top of page
Search
rachel5557

New job, new beginnings


I started a new job yesterday, in a new organization. I'll have to change the way I work because of the change in responsibilities, but I'm also keen to change how I approach my work overall. I think we've all learned a lot about happiness during the pandemic, and especially we've learned how a work-a-day 9-to-5 job may not be the answer.


While we all want to find a better balance, how do we do that? It's probably easier to do this when working from home, but once we emerge from the chrysalis of COVID we'll have to translate these changes to the workplace. I'm personally still working from home, with no end in sight. So I have an opportunity to make changes now to better my physical and mental health.


I've been the kind of worker who logs in by the clock, puts in a solid day and then logs off again after my 8 hours are done. But it's really 8 hours, without breaks. Working from home has really exacerbated the problem with no down-time between meetings, and constant meetings all day long, with no opportunity to do actual work in-between. So what am I going to do about that?


For a start, I'm making my health a priority. After all, just saying it's a priority and not taking action isn't effective. So I'm setting out some general rules to limit screen time, take breaks, exercise and stretch. But I'm also making it clear to others that these are my "new rules" by blocking my calendar. I set reminders on my phone so I have a cue to get up from my desk. By putting in place these technological aids, I am supporting myself and making it easy to take action on my priorities. If you make things easy for yourself, the habits will follow.


What habits would you like to start? Try thinking about any obstacles to getting started, and make the habit a "no-brainer", literally! Take all the decision making out of it. Decide the night before what you will eat, and make sure you have the ingredients available and the time in which to prepare it. Set out your workout clothing in advance, decide on a routine of working out and just get started.


And finally, strive for progress, not perfection. Exercise and eat well when you can, but don't beat yourself up if you miss a day. Even incremental changes will yield some kind of result.


I believe in you!


Happy reading,


Rachel

2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page